Quick Thoughts on Nine Years of Book Blogging ~

It’s hard to believe that it’s been nine years since I launched my book blog! On Saint Patrick’s Day back in 2010, I threw together a quick “hello” post, not even sure if I was serious about blogging. Before the day was done, I had a couple of followers, and the pressure was on to post some book reviews!

All in all, running Book of Secrets has been great fun, and I’m glad I stuck with it. The book blogging community has changed over the years, maybe waning in popularity a bit. Some bloggers I’ve followed have slowed down or stepped away, and that’s understandable. It can be very time consuming, and I’ve taken a few blogging breaks over the years to catch my breath.

It seems there’s been a shift from traditional book blogs to Instagram, and I follow lots of Bookstagrammers. My photography skills aren’t the greatest, but it’s still fun! About other social media places: I still love Goodreads, and I’d be lost without it. I’m on Twitter, but mainly to share review links. Pinterest has become my new online obsession. And finally, no more Facebook, personal or blog page. We were long overdue to part ways.

I’ve read hundreds of books over the past nine years (wow!), and it’s very difficult to narrow it down to one favorite per year. Here is my attempt to do that:

2010: GOODNIGHT TWEETHEART by Teresa Medeiros (So sweet)
2011: WILDFLOWER HILL by Kimberley Freeman (A dual timeline tear-jerker)
2012: THE KINGDOM by Amanda Stevens (A creepy modern Gothic)
2013: THE SECRET KEEPER by Kate Morton (I’m still wowed)
2014: YOU by Caroline Kepnes (Listen to it on audio)
2015: THE STORYCATCHER by Ann Hite (A Southern ghost story)
2016: I LET YOU GO by Clare Mackintosh (I did NOT see that coming)
2017: THE MARSH KING’S DAUGHTER by Karen Dionne (Disturbing and fascinating)
2018: WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING by Delia Owens (Deserves ALL the stars)

Have you read any of these? Agree or disagree? Thoughts on book blogging & social media? Please share! Thanks so much for visiting my blog & Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! ~ 𝓓𝓲𝓪𝓷𝓪

 

MAGRUDER’S CURIOSITY CABINET by H.P. Wood {Review}

Magruder's Curiosity Cabinet
Magruder’s Curiosity Cabinet by H.P. Wood
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

MAGRUDER’S CURIOSITY CABINET is a peculiar book with a large cast of odd and colorful characters.

In 1904, Coney Island draws thousands of visitors to its spectacular new amusement park called Dreamland. Seventeen-year old Kitty arrives there with her mother from South Africa, only to end up alone and homeless when her mother falls ill, then mysteriously disappears. Kitty befriends the “Unusuals” working at Magruder’s Curiosity Cabinet, a museum of the strange and unusual, and they agree to help her find her mother.

This book was quirky, but also rather dark and sad. My favorite parts were meeting the “Unusuals,” who at the time were society’s outcasts. They got by the best they could. Though I enjoyed the characters, there were too many, and at times they were hard to keep track of. Magruder’s museum sounds like a place I’d love to explore. So many exhibits – from fascinating and creepy to gross!

MAGRUDER’S was an ok read for me. I never felt fully invested in the story, but I thought the author did a wonderful job bringing Coney Island at the turn of the last century to life.

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher thorough NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


⭐ FIND ME: INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN ⭐

HER ONE MISTAKE by Heidi Perks {Review}


Publisher: Gallery Books
Release Date: January 8, 2019
Source: Review copy from Edelweiss
Rating: ★★★★


What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter…

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.


HER ONE MISTAKE is a fast-paced and nerve-racking domestic thriller, centering around the disappearance of a four-year old girl.

Harriet is a nervous mother who has never let her daughter Alice out of her sight. Hesitantly, she agrees to let her friend Charlotte take Alice (along with Charlotte’s three children) to a school fair. In the blink of an eye, a day of fun turns tragic when Alice goes missing.

Can you imagine the horror of losing your friend’s child? Charlotte is mortified, and Harriet is devastated. Could a friendship survive such a thing?

The search for Alice is a complex, twisty puzzle that had me hooked! I could easily empathize with Harriet and Charlotte, and definitely shared their tension. There’s not much I can say about the plot without the risk of spoilers, so I’ll just say that HER ONE MISTAKE was an exciting, suspenseful, and thought-provoking read. Enjoyed!

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.


⭐ FIND ME: INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | GOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN ⭐